Skip to content

Haveil Havalim — FrumeSarah-style

Sunday, 25 May 2008

I have never thought that it was right to enjoy the efforts of others without making some type of contribution to the cause. Take the MANY pledge drives held by public radio. Every montik un donershtik …another pledge drive. And I faithfully contribute. I can’t help myself. Ever since the time one of the producers said that you are actually guilty of theft if you listen without paying. After all, my life is significantly enriched by what I hear on NPR. I don’t always agree with what I hear, but I certainly learn a lot. So I contribute.

Which brings me to this week’s Haveil Havalim. I have been included many times in this fun Blog Carnival. So it’s only right that I take a turn at hosting. It wasn’t so hard, actually. Thankfully, the Ima hosted last week so she was able to give some words of advice first:

It was not so bad. But I started on Thursday. I realized then that if I had started the whole thing on Motzei Shabbat I would have been up all night.

And boy, was she right! I took it a step further and actually worked on it all week so that it was mostly done by Motzei Shabbat. That left just about 15 or so submissions to handle last night.

A reminder of the genesis of this carnival:
Founded by Soccer Dad, Haveil Havalim is a carnival of Jewish blogs — a weekly collection of Jewish & Israeli blog highlights, tidbits and points of interest collected from blogs all around the world. It’s hosted by different bloggers each week and coordinated by Jack. The term ‘Haveil Havalim,’ which means “Vanity of Vanities,” is from Qoheleth, (Ecclesiastes) which was written by King Solomon. King Solomon built the Holy Temple in Jerusalem and later on got all bogged down in materialism and other ‘excesses’ and realized that it was nothing but ‘hevel,’ or in English, ‘vanity.’

Please please please publicize HH on your own blog and share the news about it!

And so I present, Haveil Havalim — FrumeSarah-style!

First up, Lag B’Omer
Leora wins the award for finding a connection between Lag B’Omer and Memorial Day!

Is there a connection between Lag B’Omer and Jewish nationalism? Read Tzipiyah to find out.

Shira asks some legitimate questions about a woman’s obligation…or lack thereof. Ms. Square Peg finds herself in the odd position of praying more than many women in both the Conservative and Orthodox camps.

Burn-baby-burn over at Me-ander.

Not everyone is a fan of Lag B’Omer. Check out this and this.

Jewish

Can you go home again? NY’s Funniest Rabbi reflects from a HS reunion.

West Bank Mama says you don’t check your brains at the door just because you live an observant lifestyle.

Tradition and modernity collide over at Hatam Soferet.

The Ima shows how one selfless act can bring light and love to others…and have an amazing impact on one’s self too.

The Barefoot Jewess shares sad news…

The Jew and the Carrot
shows how the food bill has a Jewish side.

Obama is working the room…after room…after room. In search of the Jewish vote, according to Yid-with-A-Lid.

The Lion of Zion as a matchmaker?

Frummer than God? FrumPunk writes about stringincy that leaves me wondering what is left when the letter of the law supercedes the spirit. (And thanks to TamaraEden for sharing this.)

What do you know about the Jewish community in France? Ilana-Davita shares her perspective.

The Kvetching Runner’s exchange with her mother might sound a little too familiar.

Yael shares how the more things change, the more they (sadly) stay the same.

Just one word for you: Rubashkin. Read about it here and here and here and here and here.

Yid-with-A-Lid shares a story that reinforces the idea that you don’t have to go to France (Dreyfus anyone?) or the south (Leo Frank) to see how anti-Semetism is alive and well.

A man after my own grammatical heart — the Lion of Zion chimes in with some great thoughts!

Yitz shares an interesting parable by the BeSh”T as told by his grandson.

The Velveteen Rabbi takes a poetic look at this week’s Parashah (which is Bechukotai in case you were wondering.)

As has been said before over at Al Tzitzit-On the Fringe, the war to determine who defines Orthodox Judaism affects all Jews.

Israel
The Tzniyyut Police strike again, as reported by The Jewess.

Along similiar lines, Tzipiyah wonders how to find the balance between a secular and sacred place.

On a similiar note, A Mother in Israel spotlights a fringe approach to frumkeit.

And more on cult-like behaviour from Dr. Savta.

Yisrael Medad writes a letter to Abbas.

Gila contemplates the insanity of the situation.

History is in the eye of the beholder according to the Judeopundit.

Esser Aggaroth takes a wild ride.

SoccerDad submitted an interesting entry about Ashkelon.

Israel@60 celebrations continue this month. Check it out here

People throw the word apartheid around and connect it with Israel. Daled Amos tells us why that is just plain innaccurate.

Treppenwitz thoughtfully shares why it is so hard not to suspect everyone.

Is peace a real possibility? Dr. Savta weighes in.

Some reflections on Olmert and Bush from Shiloh Musings.

Soccer Dad reminds Clark Hoyt (public editor of the NY Times) that better acccuracy is required in reporting.

More on the ruling in France by Yid-with-A-Lid.

Going Green in Israel from the Big Felafel.

Another look at going green in Israel…with a political complication…from Michael Green.

Simply Jews gives a little commentary on the architectural style of Tel Aviv.

Personal and Otherwise

Life in the FrummieHouse has its ups-and-downs.

Gila contemplates life after the bombing.

Rabbi Phyllis (aka The Ima) worries about how social pressure affects her son.

Don’t know about you, but as a kid I loved when missionaries came a-knockin’ at the door. So does Jack.

Batya sees a connection between righteousness and punishment.

The stuff of which fairy tales are made on (yes, this is the correct quote!!!) according to Simply Jews.

FrumTeacher reminds us to call a spade a spade.

Is there a right or wrong way to spell ‘chet?’ Check in with the Alto Artist.

Me-ander shares her thoughts and wonders if there is a connection.

I remain in awe of those who are able to write poetry. Check out what happens when NY’s Funniest Rabbi puts pen to paper..

Over at Jewview, we are reminded that “Everyone’s a Little Bit Racist Sometimes.”

*******************************************

This was my first attempt so please feel free to leave constructive comments. That will help make it better…if Jack lets host again 🙂

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Sunday, 25 May 2008 9:45 am

    Thanks for all the hard wor and the great final product and for including me. Correction – I did not write about going to my high school reunion.

  2. Sunday, 25 May 2008 10:20 am

    yay! you did a fabulous job. i’m off to check out the links….after the family party:-)

  3. Sunday, 25 May 2008 10:33 am

    B”H

    Good Job and thanks for the cute intro and link!

    HH 167

  4. Sunday, 25 May 2008 11:32 am

    Wow! Capital job! Thanks for inclusion.

  5. Sunday, 25 May 2008 12:31 pm

    You really did a great job!!
    http://me-ander.blogspot.com/2008/05/oooops.html

    thanks for the links

  6. Frume Sarah permalink
    Sunday, 25 May 2008 1:20 pm

    Rabbi Fleischmann — whose reunion was it?

    Thanks everyone! It was fun. And it gave me a top-notch excuse to do A LOT of blog reading this week 🙂

  7. Sunday, 25 May 2008 1:22 pm

    Very nice. Well done.

  8. Sunday, 25 May 2008 2:56 pm

    Thanks for the link. What an interesting list. I’ve got some reading to do….

  9. Sunday, 25 May 2008 3:44 pm

    Thanks, FrumeSarah. Looking forward to some good reading.

  10. Sunday, 25 May 2008 5:11 pm

    Wonderful job, and thank you for the link!
    –aa.

  11. Sunday, 25 May 2008 8:03 pm

    Great job–and thank you for including me!

  12. Sunday, 25 May 2008 8:14 pm

    Thanks again and glad to see you got well deserved feedback and thanks.

    The reunion I wrote about was for the students of the school I teach in/have been teaching in for some time.

    I apprecitaed the poetry link/intro to my post. I too am awed by those who write poetry, people I aspire to join to some extent. Most of that post (after one poem by me) is a survey of poems by Samuel Menashe, who I consider to be one of our greatest living poets. I think the examples I cite make a strong argument for Menashe(rhymes with ash)’s greatness.

  13. Sunday, 25 May 2008 8:16 pm

    Hi there,

    Thanks so much for including me in this week’s HH! What a surprise.

    For some reason you weren’t in my feed reader, but you are now, AND you’re linked to my blog.

  14. Sunday, 25 May 2008 8:29 pm

    Nice job! Thanks for including me.

  15. ilanadavita permalink
    Sunday, 25 May 2008 11:43 pm

    Thanks for the great work.

  16. Monday, 26 May 2008 12:08 am

    Kudos.
    I was wondering, does it pay to leave a line of description when we submit, thereby making the carnivalite’s work easier or do carnivalites prefer writing their own introduction bit?

  17. Tuesday, 27 May 2008 7:07 am

    NIce job, and I love the layout of your blog.

  18. Tuesday, 27 May 2008 2:58 pm

    Great job! I never would have guessed that was your first time as HH host. Can you do it again soon?

  19. Frume Sarah permalink
    Tuesday, 27 May 2008 3:50 pm

    Yay — thanks for the positive feedback everyone 🙂

    I really enjoyed doing it…especially because I had a great excuse to just roam the blogosphere!

    It really is easy and fun — I recommend it to you. In fact, I’ll be hosting again on July 27.

    I enjoyed writing the little blurbs but I now realize that it can be helpful to the host to at the very least give him/her some idea of where I think it should be placed. Also, the notes that people included gave me some additional insight as well.

    What I like most, I think, is the opportunity to expose my (small, but loyal) readership to a variety of bloggers…especially those whose political and religious views differ so vastly from mine. It’s always good to hear from the other side of an issue.

  20. Tuesday, 27 May 2008 4:52 pm

    Thanks for the limkage. Do you do these summaries often?

  21. Frume Sarah permalink
    Tuesday, 27 May 2008 5:55 pm

    FP — this was my first one. But you can find the weekly edition of Haveil Havalim here: http://blogcarnival.com/bc/cprof_43.html

    Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  22. Wednesday, 4 June 2008 8:10 am

    LOVE it and thanks for including moi!!!!

  23. Friday, 20 June 2008 12:50 pm

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Caulker

Trackbacks

  1. Here in HP, a Highland Park, New Jersey blog » Blog Carnivals and Health Costs
  2. Carnivals, Carnivals… « West Bank Mama

What's On Your Mind??