Skip to content

Across Time and Space

Friday, 29 October 2010

When studying Torah, the Jewish way is to sit with Chazal and turn the text over and over. Engaging with our Sages, of Blessed Memory, allows us to reach across time and distance and develop appreciation for and a relationship with those whom we have never had a face-to-face encounter.

In a similar way, the internet serves as a portal to those whom might never have the opportunity to meet IRL. Email, blogs, tweets, Facebook, VBlogs — each platform allowing us to connect with others in an intimate and very real way.

There are people whose blogs I have been reading so long and so consistently, and with whom I correspond, that I count them among my friends. Sometimes the distance provides safety in exploring difficult issues that might be more difficult to do with others. I have also established relationships and friendships with Jews from segments in our community that I might not otherwise have had the fortune of meeting.

Like RivkA. Her self-description:

I am a Red-Head (to know one, is to love one), Zionist (last of a dying breed), Idealist (can’t help it, I still want to change the world), Enthusiastic People Person (love to meet you!), Mom (my kids are EVERYTHING to me), Wife (married to my best friend), and Cancer Survivor (read on!).

Observant, passionate, and funny as all get out, I knew the first time I read one of RivkA’s posts that we would click and that my life would be enriched by the experience.

And, I knew as well, that my heart would some day ache to read of her death as it does today.

RivkA leaves behind her loving husband, children, and many, many friends and students. And I count myself fortunate to be among them.

May RivkA bat Yishaya‘s name always be sweet on the lips of those who knew her.

Zichrona L’vrakha — may her memory be for a blessing.

*******************

Just a few of the many tributes from others touched by RivkA’s guidance, love, and friendship:
Robin’s She’s Gone. Baruch Dayan ha’emet
Staying Afloat’s And the world keeps turning
Ricki’s Mom’s Thoughts on RivkA, Life, and Death
Adena’s Friends in Cyberspace

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Friday, 29 October 2010 12:22 pm

    I am oh-so tired of this refrain, but so it goes: I sorry for the loss of your friend and especially saddened to know what took her life. May her memory be a blessing to you and all those who knew her, IRL and in cyberspace. I’m sorry that I was not among them.

    • Frume Sarah permalink*
      Sunday, 31 October 2010 10:03 pm

      The nice thing about the blog is that you can go back and read her posts. And learn soooo much. I especially recommend a talk that RivkA, z”l, gave in June of 09 about living with cancer. Not having cancer. Not dying of cancer. But living…REALLY living.

  2. Friday, 29 October 2010 1:30 pm

    Baruch Dayan HaEmet. I always liked RivkA.

    • Frume Sarah permalink*
      Sunday, 31 October 2010 10:04 pm

      Yeah. A lot to like. She had such passion.

  3. Friday, 29 October 2010 3:20 pm

    {{{sigh}}} I guess I thought (hoped?) she was invincible.

    May her memory be for a blessing, online and off.

  4. Sunday, 31 October 2010 1:17 am

    The world lost one of it’s most brightly shining stars this week. Even knowing it was coming it still feels like a punch straight to the gut.

    Baruch dayan ha’emet. Fly free dear friend, fly free. Now you’ve got a whole new world to take by storm.

    • Frume Sarah permalink*
      Sunday, 31 October 2010 10:05 pm

      I know. It was more and more obvious this past week. And yet…

  5. Sunday, 31 October 2010 10:19 am

    Well said!

    • Frume Sarah permalink*
      Sunday, 31 October 2010 10:05 pm

      Thank you.

      What a loss.

Trackbacks

  1. Coffee Treatments : : People Came to Say Goodbye - Cancer Health Center
  2. Twitted by TefillaB
  3. Writing Interview with Ilana-Davita » Here in HP, Highland Park, New Jersey blog

What's On Your Mind??